Auto insurers operating under Rhode Island’s two-tier collision repair shop system have reported to the state’s Department of Business Regulation their “separate and distinct” prevailing labor rates for different classes of body shops. Class A shops will receive up to $53 per hour for body labor (depending on the insurer), which is as much as $8 per hour more than rates received by Class B shops. You can view the entire list of rates here.
Rhode Island became the first state in the country to segment collision repair facilities based on equipment and training levels when it passed a law in 2015 establishing Class A and Class B shops. The state requires insurance companies with at least 1% of the auto insurance market in Rhode Island to conduct an annual survey of labor rates they pay to each class of shop. As of 2016, only 31 of the state’s more than 200 collision repair shops qualified as Class A shops.